Official Name: Romania
Form of Government:  Republic
The Parliament: a two-chamber Parliament (the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate)
National Flag: next to the staff, three equal vertical stripes, blue, yellow and red
Geographical Location: South Eastern Europe
Neighbours: Bulgaria, Serbia, Hungary, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine
Area: 238,391 km² (ranking 12th in Europa)
Currency: Romanian leu (RON)
Capital city: Bucharest (1.9 million inhabitants)
Administrative organisation: 42 counties (including Bucharest), 319 town, 2851 communes
Main cities: Iasi, Constanta, Cluj-Napoca, Brasov, Arad, Ploiesti, Timisoara, Oradea.
Population: 19.6 million inhabitants
Density: 91 inhabitants/
Ethnic structure: Romanians 89.5%, Hungarians 6.6%, other 3.9%